Round 2 – Fight!

Well, as predicted, I haven’t been updating this blog too frequently.  In this case, no news is good news.  I had a little bit of a sore throat the week after my first treatment, and I was a little tired for a few days, but I managed to avoid any of the nastier side effects, and last week I felt better than I have in months.

I got round 2 of chemo this morning, and it went well again.  They did say that my white blood cells are lower than they should be, but I got a shot that should fix that.  This afternoon I’ve felt a tiny bit sick, but nothing to worry about.  So, everything’s going along as planned.  I still have all my hair for now, but my balding doctor told me that if I still have more hair than he does next time I see him, he’s upping my dose of chemotherapy. (He was just kidding.  Or so he claims…)

Last week I went to the lake with the family, and I had a great time.  There’s one of the blessings coming out of having cancer – more time to spend with my family before heading up to Canada.  We watched the 4th of July fireworks from out on the boat, which I missed last year due to being in Australia, and spent a lot of time just relaxing.  This week is a work week (if I still feel up to it) – I’m slowly getting settled in my parents’ house, and I’m working part time for the Office of Outreach answering emails, as well as helping Heavenly Doctrines Publishing with reviewing the Ager translation of “True Christian Religion” for republishing.  On Friday I leave for the shore, to my grandma’s house on Long Beach Island, my favorite place in the world.

One other little thing.  I haven’t seen my primary doctor since I was diagnosed about a month ago – it’s all been my oncologist (plus the surgeon for my port).  Today my doctor called just to see how I was doing and to let me know he was thinking of me.  Little things like that blow me away.  People are awesome, and the Lord is so good.

Leave a Reply

