Port Insertion

Today I got a port put in for chemotherapy.  A port is – well, you can click on that link to wikipedia to get a real description of it, but basically it’s a little plastic cylinder implantend in my chest and connected to a vein.  It’s right under the skin, and they can do all my chemo injections through it, rather than trying to find a vein in my arm every time.  I am looking forward to fewer needles in my arms – I don’t mind them, but you do get a little sick of it.

Anyway, surgery went great.  Or at least I assume it did.  I was asleep for the whole thing.  I got into the operating room, got onto the table, and the next thing I knew I was waking up in a completely different room.  With the hiccups.  I got hiccups the last time I got anesthesia, too, for my wisdom teeth.  Apparently it’s pretty rare (according to the highly scientific google search I did just now), but it does happen.  I guess I was there for another half hour or so letting the grogginess wear off a little, then got a ride home.  I crashed on the couch as soon as I got home and slept for the next two hours, which was pretty great.  Now that the local anesthetic has worn off there’s a little soreness around where the port is, but it feels mostly like a stiff muscle – not much pain at all.

Tomorrow I start chemotherapy.  I can’t say I’m looking forward to the chemo itself – in fact I can say I’m NOT looking forward to the chemo itself – but I’m looking forward to it killing my cancer cells.  My appointment is for 8:30 tomorrow morning.  I think the plan is that I’ll go in, they’ll hook me up to an IV via my brand new port, and they’ll test to make sure I’m not allergic to any of the chemo drugs and give me some anti-nausea medication.  Then they’ll start the chemo itself, which will take about 2 and a half hours, since they have to let some of the chemicals drip in slowly.  I should be back home by noon tomorrow.

This week might be a little bit rough, but I’m excited for the end of next week, when the chemo side effects have died down and maybe some of the lymphoma symptoms are gone.  I don’t know for sure what I’ll be doing yet this summer, but I’ve been told that there is ministerial work for me around Bryn Athyn, and I can’t wait till I can start working.

Leave a Reply

