Thanksgiving

“Bless the LORD, O my soul; And all that is within me, bless His holy name! Bless the LORD, O my soul, And forget not all His benefits.” (Psa 103:1-2)

Thanksgiving is here, and I don’t know if I’ve ever felt as much gratitude as I feel this year.  I’m alive, and my cancer seems to be in remission.  I have one treatment left, and then I’ll be able to move on to Toronto, to help serve the Olivet society.

I’m thankful to and thankful for the people who have dedicated their lives to researching cancer and seeking for a cure.

I’m thankful to and thankful for my primary care doctor, Dr. Pedicino, for taking my symptoms seriously, for reassuring me that if I had cancer it would still be treatable, for referring me to a great oncologist, and for checking up on me just to see how I was doing.

I’m thankful to and for my oncologist, Dr. Gharpure, for his expertise and for his humor and for saving my life.

I’m thankful to and for all the nurses and staff people at Abington Hematology and Oncology.  I’m certainly not going to miss chemo, but I’m going to miss talking to them, their smiling faces, their friendliness.

I’m thankful to and thankful for my family.  Thanks, Mom and Dad, for taking me to my chemo appointments and sitting with me.  Thanks for taking care of me at home, and for putting up with my whining when I felt bad.  Thanks to all my siblings for not letting me take myself too seriously, and thanks for letting me know that you really care (we know we care about each other even if, or maybe especially if, we show it mostly by mocking each other).

I’m thankful to and thankful for my friends.  You’re awesome.  Thanks for understanding when I didn’t feel well enough to do anything.  Thanks for offering over and over again to do whatever I needed, and thanks for listening when I said that what I needed was to just be treated normally.  Thanks for all the cancer jokes.

I’m thankful to and for all the people who care about me.  There’s a lot more of you than I realized.  I cannot believe how much love and support have been sent my way.  I can’t even begin to express what it’s like to hear from so many people that they’re thinking about you and praying about you and caring about you.  It almost makes getting cancer worth it (but not quite :-)).  Thank you!

And thanks to the Lord, of course, the Source of all that love that was directed to me, the Source of the knowledge and wisdom that fought my cancer.  I’m grateful for life – not just for “being alive” in this world, but for real life – for loving other people, for serving others, for playing, for rejoicing, for praising the Lord.  And what an awesome gift to know that life is eternal.  I’m grateful for eternal things: for love and wisdom, and for loving and wise people, who already seem to be angels.

2 Responses to “Thanksgiving”

  1. Sylvia Says:

    Nice, Coleman. I’m also thankful that you made it through this.

  2. Robin Weegar Says:

    Thx for information.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

